Use this list to locate local information and websites in specific subject areas.
Last Updated: May 26, 2015
- American Anthropological Association
"Founded in 1902, the American Anthropological Association (AAA) is the world's largest organization of individuals interested in anthropology."
- ArchNet - World Wide Web Virtual Library of Archaeology
The ArchNet website is designed to promote appreciation, understanding, and knowledge about archaeology and the preservation and interpretation of cultural resources, both prehistoric and historic.
- Center for World Indigenous Studies
Research and education organization dedicated to wider understanding and appreciation of the ideas and knowledge of indigenous peoples and the social, economic and political realities of indigenous nations.
- Digital Egypt
Subjects include architecture, art, medicine, science, religion, literature, gender studies, cultural studies, museum studies
- Folklife Sourcebook
Includes over three million photographs, manuscripts, audio recordings, and moving images. It is America's first national archive of traditional life, and one of the oldest and largest of such repositories in the world.
- Global Consumption Database
The Global Consumption Database is a one-stop source of data on household consumption patterns in developing countries. It is designed to serve a wide range of users—from researchers seeking data for analytic studies to businesses seeking a better understanding of the markets into which they are expanding or those they are already serving.
- Index of Native American Resources
WWW Virtual Library - American Indians; Index of Native American Resources on the Internet
- National Archeological Database
Provides GIS layers related to archeological data
- Native American Documents Project
This collection currently includes the narrative reports of the commissioner of Indian affairs for 1871, 1872, 1874, 1875, and 1876, and three additional reports for 1871.
- Public Anthropology
Ethical issues relating to anthropology and the contemporary world
- Anthropology in the News
Maintained by the Department of Anthropology, Texas A & M University, this site aggregates articles from a wide variety of sources.
- Anthropology News
This site contains news from the American Anthropological Association.
- Archaeology News
This site contains the latest archeological headlines from the Archaeology website of the Archeological Institute of America.
- BBC News: Science/Nature
This site frequently has articles on human prehistory and anthropology.
- National Geographic Daily News
Contains daily news articles on a wide variety of topics from the National Geographic Society
- National Geographic Cultures News
Articles on the National Geographic Daily News site focusing on human culture, both ancient and modern.
- Working with Indigenous Knowledge: A guide for Researchers, by Louise Grenier (1998)
- What about Indigenous Knowledge
- IDRC Website
“To achieve self-reliance, poor communities need answers to questions like: How can we grow more and healthier food? Protect our health? Create jobs? A key part of Canada’s aid program since 1970, IDRC supports research in developing countries to answer these questions.
IDRC also encourages sharing this knowledge with policymakers, other researchers, and communities around the world. The result is innovative, lasting local solutions that aim to bring choice and change to those who need it most.” IDRC Website